Research Experiment – Participants Needed!

This post will be different to the others, since I am not trying to present architectural oddities, but a task:

Currently, I am researching on the topic “Architecture and Digital Media – Rethinking and Re-positioning in the design process” as my thesis. As part of that research project, I am planning to involve people’s thoughts and also their contribution. That means, I will try to establish a network of interaction, So I will feed info into the web, and whoever wants to contribute can do so and will definitely influence my research. The info I will feed into the web will be tasks. I don’t want to expose too much of the research, since I don’t want it to influence the contributors with too much info ahead. First of all i would like to figure out who’s interested in contributing….

The first thing I will try to put up is a comparison of an analogue, or “classic” design process, and the digital method. Whatever the digital method is doesn’t matter, what I am looking for is people interested in experimenting, working on this research, on a new way of designing and working in a contemporary way. The first thing I would like to ask is fulfilling a tiny design task, or rather the process of such task.

The important thing is to protocol the process of the steps you take, i.e. what did you do when.

There’s only one rule: The computer or any digital media shouldn’t be used, or it’s use should be very reduced (including the internet!), to drawings. If you’re interested, let me know via a post and you’ll get the details. Shouldn’t take more than a day or two.

I am looking forward to what will happen and thank you in advance for contributing in this research, just post a comment and i will contact you!

But, I won’t let you off without at least one weird project. This one i found while researching on Greg Lynn’s homepage, and reading this article in icon magazine.

The Thing

Pod Things

It fell from the sky

I don’t know whether this has to be commented at all, but I am wondering whether someone (including the Greg Lynn and Form) actually took this serious even for a second.

Also, I was wondering whether it is impudence or irony that contributed in giving it the name of an ark…..

~ by aboutarchitecture on March 9, 2007.

One Response to “Research Experiment – Participants Needed!”

  1. […] 30th, 2007 by aboutarchitecture This is an experimental short animation I did for my thesis, ‘Architecture and Digital Media’. The basis for this is a parametric simulation to […]

Leave a Reply

 
